• Language
  •  My Account
  •  Wishlist
  •  My Cart


Invitees Announced For Rip Curl Cup 2017

28 June 2017



Rip Curl has officially announced the 16 surfers invited to compete in the Rip Curl Cup 2017, to be held on the best day of waves at Padang Padang between July 10 and August 10.

Among the world’s best surfers preparing to push the limits of tuberiding in pursuit of the prestigious title are: 3x World Champion Tom Curren (USA), North Shore charger Mason Ho (HAW) and former WCT superstar and style icon Bruce Irons (HAW). Among the surfing luminaries representing Indonesia are defending Rip Curl Cup Champion Mega Semadhi, Indonesian surfing ambassador Rizal Tandjung and two-time Indonesian Champion Lee Wilson.

Going by the numbers, there’s no question 2017’s lineup of invited surfers is one of the most potent ever assembled: a 3x World Champion, five WCT event Champions and four Indonesian National Champions are among the all-star lineup of surfers vying for the 2017 Rip Curl Cup at Padang Padang.

In addition to Curren, Ho and Irons, goofyfoot barrel mercenaries Damien Hobgood (USA) and Clay Marzo (HAW) will also be making their return to the Rip Curl Cup, hoping to better their finals appearances from last year and claim The Cup. Meanwhile, reigning Rip Curl Cup Champion and pride of Balinese surfing Mega Semadhi said he’s looking forward to a rematch with the big names, no matter how it plays out.

“Padang Padang is one of the best waves in Indonesia,” Semadhi said. “It’s the perfect spot to share with some of the best tube riders in the world. When you get that combination of wave quality and talent for one special day, everyone is always going to leave stoked no matter where they end up finishing.”

Click here to view all invites


Style Code: